about_us_banner_11bosco.jpeg
our-story-bg3.jpeg
meet the team.jpg
about_us_banner_11bosco.jpeg

Our Story


SCROLL DOWN

Our Story


bosco world.png

Touching Lives

For over 70 years!

The Don Bosco Centers have been providing free English classes to adult immigrants and refugees from over 75 countries and vastly differing life situations, who benefited from the English as a Second Language (ESL) Center. Through our partnership with the Independence School District, the ESL program has grown to be the largest in Kansas City region, and offers an eight-level English program that teaches vital language and life skills.

The Don Bosco Senior Center has been helping seniors age 60 and over and adults with disabilities maintain independent living by providing meals, transportation, fellowship and activities that promote health, education, and recreation. Based on Mid-America Regional Council (MARC) guidelines the Don Bosco Senior Center is the largest, most comprehensive senior center in the Greater Kansas City area.

 

How We Help

Food provision                

Home Delivery                      

On-Site Meals

 

ESL courses

English Language/Literacy Classes

Basic Computer Classes

Health & Wellness

Health Screenings

Exercise Classes & Equipment

 

adult Education

Basic Skills Instruction

Citizenship Preparation

Socialization

Birthday Parties

BINGO, Pokeno, Crafts, & More

 

Job Readiness

HiSET Exam Preparation

Career Preparation & Training

Lives We Have Impacted

Countries of Origin

 

30,000   

Mexico

 

+10,000

Somalia

20,000

Vietnam

2,000

Syrian

 

English Classes

Free English Classes

Food PROVISION

On-Site Meals

Meals on Wheels

 
Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 8.29.07 PM.png

Senior Assistance

Health & Wellness Classes

 

Transportation

Rides to/from Senior Center

our-story-bg3.jpeg

Our Mission Statement


Don Bosco positions our ethnically diverse
population of all ages across metropolitan
Kansas City to be self-sufficient and
contributing members of this great community.

Our Mission Statement


Don Bosco positions our ethnically diverse
population of all ages across metropolitan
Kansas City to be self-sufficient and
contributing members of this great community.

meet the team.jpg

Meet The Team


Meet The Team



Board of Directors

Jr. Board

Joe Kelly

Dustin Roberts

Laura Kelly

Joe Dunn

Mohamed Mohamed

Emily Gibson

Alex Privitera

Matt Dehning

Emma Hawkins

Cory Wilson

Eric Breed

Megan Walter

Scott Strohm

Mark Cox

Ryan Bodicky

Nobel Cox

Liz Hoffman

Adelaine Orpin

Ben Baker

Lauren Haley

Dan Kelley

Zac Richmond

John Kilby

Josh Beck

Andrew Burdette

For more information on how to get involved on Don Bosco Centers Jr. Board, contact Joe Kelly at joe.kelly@cerner.com

Mike Lally,
Chairman of the Board
Vice President, Olsson Associates
mlally@olssonassociates.com

Ellen J. Pantaenius,
Past Chairperson of the Board
Husch Blackwell LLP
Ellen.pantaenius@huschblackwell.com

Walter H. Guth, Ph.D.,
Secretary of the Board
Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate
Kansas City Homes
walterg@kansascityhomes.com

Chris Nigro,
Treasurer
Nigro Insurance Group
chris@nigroinsurance.com

Paul Strohm
President, COO
C&C Group
pstrohm@c-cgroup.com

Monty Rogers
President
Pharm Asses
Monty@pharmassess.com

Cary Hall
The HIA Radio Network and Marketing
Benefits by Design, Inc.
chall@hianetwork.com

Deborah Briggs
Director of Adult & Community Education
Independence School District: Don Bosco
dbriggs@donbosco.org
deborah_brigss@isdschools.org

Mark Litzler
The Nelson Art Gallery
mlitzler@nelson-atkins.org

Dave Armstrong, CSJA
Director of Mission Effectiveness and Campus Ministries
Avila University
David.Armstrong@avila.edu

Fr. Ariel Durian, CS
Pastor, Holy Rosary Church,
Diocese of Missouri-St. Joseph
arieldurian@yahoo.com

Patrick Pearce
National Sales Director
iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch
Apple Inc.
patrick.pearce@icloud.com

Laura Nigro Kelly
Cerner Corporation
Laura.kelly@cerner.com

John M. Neyens
Seigfreid Bingham
jneyens@sb-kc.com

Angelica Kindt
Keller Williams Realty
angelicakindt@kw.com

Joe Privitera
Mark One Electric Company
Joe.privitera@markone.com

Tony Ali
President
The frank Agency
Tony.Ali@ThefrankAgency.com

Tina Boschert
Contracting Attorney
The University of Kansas Hospital
tcarney816@hotmail.com

Ex Officio:

Bill Dana
President & CEO
Central Bank of Kansas City
bdana@centralbankkc.com

Bill Dunn III, Past Chairman of the Board
Managing Director
Campione Interior Solutions
bd3@campionekc.com

David Staker
President/CEO
Plastic Packaging Technologies, LLC
davidstaker@plaspack.com

Torre Nigro, Jr.,
President, Broker Source
tnigro@broker-source.com